Fermented

ferment

I keep hearing and reading about the many health benefits of fermented foods and beverages. They seem to be one of the biggest trends right now. You know what I’m talking about; kefir, sauerkraut, kombucha, yogurts, apple cider vinegar, fermented sodas, etc.. Check out all the research; the benefits are indisputable. Probiotics are fantastic for your body. I decided to visit a cute little dairy about 1/2 an hour from me where they specialize in raw dairy products, free range eggs and grass-fed meats. They had pint bottles of kefir and quart jars of kombucha for sale, so along with some milk and cheese (which I sampled and were both yummy) I bought some. An expensive mistake! Both are going into the garbage! I can’t tolerate the taste or smell of fermented foods/beverages. I guess I have a very sensitive palate because I cannot seem to down any form of vinegar (even vinegar based dressings), sauerkraut, yogurt (even flavored ones), and now strawberry kefir and kombucha. I only drank a spoonful of each and feel quite sick to my stomach. I guess I’ll be consuming my probiotics in pill form for now.

Leave a Reply

